TRACK

TRACK

TRACK 22

Strategy, Structure, and Organizational Impacts of IT
Current IT technologies are advancing at an astounding rate, and have unpredicted impacts on organizations around the world. These technologies include artificial intelligence (e.g. robotic speech and chatbots, voice and facial recognitions, search engine optimization), humanized big data analytics, blockchain, and augmented reality, cloud computing and Internet of Things. These technologies typically have the characteristics of being disruptive, revolutionary and innovative. For example, the use of cloud computing and the Internet of Things is driving the demand for flexible consumption and services such as Amazon Key, online movie rentals, and online software rentals.

 

For highly competitive companies in the world, IT has become an engine of business innovation, and is playing a role of organizational transformation. IT technologies have also created the foundation for new business models, prominent examples of which include companies such as Apple, Amazon, AirBnB, Cognizant, Facebook, Google, Qualcomm, Tesla, and Uber, to name a few. Today, the use of IT in almost all industries, whether agriculture, law, insurance, entertainment or healthcare, is no longer an option or merely playing a supporting role, but enables business turnaround and is pivotal to business success and competitive advantage.
 

To date, there have been very few studies investigating the business strategy, structure and organizational impacts of the abovementioned disruptive IT technologies on organizations. Thus, in this track we welcome research papers with the use of rigorous and innovative qualitative, quantitative or mixed methods to theoretically or empirically investigate the organizational impacts of new IT technologies.
 

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
Business, economic and social values of new IT technologies
Business-IT alignment and IT governance in the digital age
Challenges and opportunities faced by organizations in an age of disruptive technology
Digitally-enabled business models and innovation
Organizational agility, adaption, and responses to disruptive digital technologies
Innovative deployment of the current IT technologies
Impact of disruptive IT technology on business strategy
Disruptive technological innovation management: predicting the timing of disruption, prioritizing threats and opportunities, making resource allocation decisions.
Smart and connected product development and its implications for structural changes in organizations

 

Track Co-Chairs:
Celeste Ng, Associate Professor, Yuan Ze University, Taiwan, celeste@saturn.yzu.edu.tw
Toomas Tamm, Lecturer, University of New South Wales, Australia, toomas.tamm@unsw.edu.au
Anita Lee-Post, Associate Professor, University of Kentucky, USA, dsianita@uky.edu
William Wang, Associate Professor, University of Waikato, New Zealand, william.wang@waikato.ac.nz

 

Track AEs:
Alex She-I Chang, Professor, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan, actsic@ccu.edu.tw
Carol Ou, Associate Professor, Tilburg University, Netherlands, carol.ou@uvt.nl
Craig Parker, Senior Lecturer, Deakin University, Australia, craig.parker@deakin.edu.au
Felix Ter Chian Tan, Senior Lecturer, University of New South Wales, Australia, f.tan@unsw.edu.au
Gloria Liu, Postdoctoral Researcher, National Central University, Taiwan, glorialiu2007@gmail.com, glorialiu@mgt.ncu.edu.tw
Gohar Khan, Senior Lecturer, University of Waikato, New Zealand, gohar.khan@waikato.ac.nz
Ida Asadi Someh, Lecturer, The University of Queensland, Australia, i.asadi@business.uq.edu.au
Jae-yong Oh, Assistant Professor, Eastern Kentucky University, USA, jae-yong.oh@eky.edu
Jamie Chang, Assistant Professor, Tunghai University, Taiwan, jamie@thu.edu.tw
Ken Stevens, Senior Lecturer, University of New South Wales, Australia, k.stevens@unsw.edu.au
Laurence Chang Fang-Kai, Assistant Professor, Dayeh University, Taiwan, fkchang@mail.dyu.edu.tw
Margaret Luo Meiling, Associate Professor, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan, luo@mis.ccu.edu.tw
Mathiyalakan Sathasivam, Professor, Winston-Salem State University, USA, mathiyalakansa@wssu.edu
Shamsul Bahri Bin Zakaria, Senior Lecturer, University of Malaya, Malaysia, esbi@um.edu.my
Ting Ting Zhang, Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Science & Technology Beijing, China, tzhang@ustb.edu.cn
Tiong Goh, Senior Lecturer, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand, tiong.goh@vuw.ac.nz
Wei-Tsong Wang, Professor, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan, wtwang@mail.ncku.edu.tw
Yi Chuan Wang, Lecturer, University of New Castle, United Kingdom, Yi-Chuan.Wang@newcastle.ac.uk
Zhiguo Yang, Assistant Professor, Missouri State University, USA, zhiguoyang@missouristate.edu

PACIS2019 MENUS